Skip to content

South Korea (Part 4)

As I mentioned before when I worked in South Korea from 2005 till 2007 I lived in Gangnam Gu district which literally means “South of the River”. And the river in question here is the “Han River” which played a very important role in South Korea’s history. With it’s many bridges it is a magnificent sight at night with each bridge lit up in different colours. I remember on one of my first excursion walks through the streets of Gangnam I came across some interesting street Art and modern architecture.

Seoul is a city that rapidly expanded to become the world’s fourth largest metropolitan economy which is known as the “Miracle on the Han River”.  Traffic in Seoul is a constant chaos and non-stop. I have experienced many a times where I have spend twenty minutes or so in a Taxi only to move a couple of blocks further from where I got in. Changing lanes happens when one feels like it without any prior indication to fellow commuters. Not just one lane. If one wants to cross oh let’s say four lanes at once then one will do so. It was one reason why I never drove a vehicle during my time in Seoul. And I never had to really as commuting within the city is much quicker going by subway. One thing that struck me and I am not sure if this has been noticed by other expatriates is that I never saw any cars that had a different color than black, grey or white. Apart from the buses, that run in different colors indicating the distances they will go to transport commuters. The colors (blue, green red and yellow) also represent a meaning. These are not just blindly chosen but carefully thought about. I think I traveled only once on a Seoul bus in my two years there. My main mean of transport was always the subway or the taxi. I also never saw a Honda, Lexus, Toyota, Fiat, Opel, Renault or what have you. In fact the only foreign car makes I saw were Mercedes Benz or BMW. It was always a Hyundai or a Kia or Daewoo that flew past me.

I have known South Koreans to be very proud of their nation. A very patriotic lot. And that was certainly noticeable looking at the limited foreign products that were available in the time I was there. A Nokia or Blackberry mobile phone you simply could not buy. And if you had a phone from overseas you were in for a surprise as you could not use it in South Korea. If you had a mobile phone that was using a sim card than you would have the same bad luck as in South Korea mobile phones do not operate with sim cards. So you could find yourself ending up with multiple mobile phones, especially if you were frequently traveling in and out of South Korea. Mind you this was back in 2005 and I am not sure how that situation is today but I am assuming it has somehow adjusted and become somewhat more flexible.

The Seoul Metropolitan Subway System is the world’s most extensive one by length and the world’s second largest by number of stations. New York grasp the first spot here. It is also the world’s second most used subway. Tokyo is number one here and to those who have lived or live in Tokyo this certainly will be no surprise. I had the fortunate however extremely rare experience of capturing an empty subway on my DSLR. It probably must have been during the Chuseok holidays because otherwise I can not think of a period where this could be remotely possible.

to be continued…

Posted by skookella on May 26, 2013

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

SmugMug News

Stunning Photo Websites For You, Your Family, Or Your Business.

Seth Adam Smith

Life Is Worth Living

Ajaytao 2010

My Personal Opening to the World

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

The Netherlands by numbers

People, habits, things, places - you name it, we list it

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Bohemian on a Budget

How to Wander the Globe...Without Going Completely Broke

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Eat with Class

Food. Wine. Culture. Go on a food-gasmic journey with me!

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

Jean's Photography Blog

Looking at life in a whole new perspective

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Travels and Trifles

Expressing Thought Through Photography

Shmamaland

Some Words, Mostly Pictures

My Life, My Way, My Words

The Random Ramblings of a British Asexual

pics from somewhere

daily life pics from places over the world

Janaline's world journey

My Strange and Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

