Skip to content

South Korea (Part 1)

Having an immense passion for photography I try and shoot as much as I can of whatever passes my eyes during my travels and stays. Thing is I end up with thousands of photos and not always having the time to process them but that’s ok. I made a start so here we go. This is from my time in South Korea. I shot so many photos of South Korea I have to do this in several parts. As a matter of fact I have to do all the places I have been in several parts looking at my Lightroom “library”. But it will be fun. So, yes South Korea. I lived here for two years from 2005 till 2007 in Seoul. I lived in Gangnam, Samseong Dong. Yes that Gangnam so you could say I have lived the “Gangnam Style”. A fascinating City with plenty history which is very much noticable looking at the traditional buildings scattered through the City in-between the modern skyscrapers that fill the city. A population of over 10 million and I think I met every one of them. The whole metropolitan area is the world’s second largest with over 25 million people. Needless to say it’s a busy place. And when you say to a South Korean from Seoul that you don’t want to be stuck in traffic…..well they just laugh at you with a look that says….”You’re new here right?” There simply is no such thing as “not being stuck in traffic” in Seoul. The subway here is excellent and cheap so why would you choose to drive unless you need a taxi. But packed to the roof and with South Koreans being kim-chi lovers this can be a whole new experience. Those who lived in Seoul know what I mean. Great stuff by the way kim-chi. I love it and it’s very good for you as well.

South Koreans just love their country and they are very proud of it. And I must say I had a bit of an advantage. How so? Well being a born Dutchmen I had the advantage thanks to a man called Guus Hiddink. This man is an absolute GOD in South Korea and he is very much loved still to this day. He took the South Korean National soccer team to a fourth place during the 2002 FIFA World Cup which was held in Seoul. This was never achieved in the history of soccer in South Korea. Guus Hiddink put South Korean soccer on the world map and because of that achievement South Korean soccer players like Park Chu Young, Ki Sung Yeung, Kim Bo Kyung and the likes started to filter through on the world scene of soccer and played in the EPL. Guus Hiddink is more important to South Koreans than their own President. He received automatic Citizenship amongst other royalties. Huge posters of him were positioned everywhere in the subway. This man is a hero to many South Koreans. South Koreans love the Dutch and love Holland all thanks to this man. I remember coming back to Seoul from my holidays and happen to wear a Orange sports Jacket from the Dutch National Soccer team and it had “Nederland” written on the back and the guys at customs at Incheon Airport all having their thumbs up saying..”Holland vely gooood” Never had any problems at that airport. Now being a Westerner you can be a bit of an attraction in Seoul to say the least so people will stare at you. Once in the subway this guy was staring at me for a while as if I had just dropped down to earth from some god forsaken place and slammed right into a seat next to him. He then said to me ” You go back to America.” In a joking way I said something like “Well if you don’t mind I prefer South America, I have never been there”. He then asked “Whele you flom”? “From holland and thanks for asking” I said. Suddenly he jumped up and started to shake my hand ” OOOOOHHH Holland vely goooood….Guus Hiddink….vely gooood”

to be continued…

Posted by skookella on March 4, 2013

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

SmugMug News

Stunning Photo Websites For You, Your Family, Or Your Business.

Seth Adam Smith

Life Is Worth Living

Ajaytao 2010

My Personal Opening to the World

G. E. Gallas

Writer and Illustrator

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

The Netherlands by numbers

People, habits, things, places - you name it, we list it

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Bohemian on a Budget

How to Wander the Globe...Without Going Completely Broke

Maybrick's Photography

Beautiful British Isles.

Eat with Class

Food. Wine. Culture. Go on a food-gasmic journey with me!

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

Jean's Photography Blog

Looking at life in a whole new perspective

this man's journey

Each journey has a story to tell. Each story has the possibility to bring about change, hope, joy, comfort, healing.

Travels and Trifles

Expressing Thought Through Photography

Shmamaland

Some Words, Mostly Pictures

My Life, My Way, My Words

The Random Ramblings of a British Asexual

pics from somewhere

daily life pics from places over the world

